Copycat Recipe: Starbucks Chocolate Chunk Cookies

This is one of my most random posts ever, but here we go.

I’ve had a few folks ask about the Starbucks Chocolate Chunk cookie recipe I’ve been trying to replicate.   And so here is the recipe I’m using and it’s the closest I’ve gotten yet.    What do I love about this cookie?  The brown-sugar sweetness, the size, the crisp edges but soft center, the chocolate chunks, the slight taste of salt, and the hearty texture.

Here is the link to the nutrition information for the actual Starbucks cookie, which of course lists the ingredients.

e8a3980b1198498a906ba574c0033038
Photo courtesy of Starbucks

 I have adapted the below recipe, which is actually a recipe for “Pizookie” (aka Pizza Cookie, ya know, the kind you make in a big skillet and then serve warm topped with ice cream?).

Ingredients

  • 1 cup unsalted butter

  • 2 1/4 cups all-purpose flour  (Starbucks’ ingredients list call for wheat flour.  I tried with organic white and also tried with half organic white and half wheat.  The blend version gave the cookies a heartier texture but didn’t rise well. I may stick with the organic white version or maybe just 1/4 cup of wheat and 2 cups white)

  • 1 teaspoon sea salt (I prefer the taste and texture of sea salt)

  • 1 teaspoon baking soda

  • 1/4 cup Turbinado sugar (I adapted to use this sugar as I like the texture better than regular sugar)

  • 1 1/4 cups brown sugar

  • 1 egg

  • 1 egg yolk

  • 2 tablespoons milk

  • 1 1/2 teaspoons vanilla extract

  • 1 cup semi-sweet chocolate chunks

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 375°F.

  2. Melt the butter in a saucepan over low heat. Sift together the flour, salt, and baking soda. Set aside.

  3. Pour the melted butter in a large bowl. Add the sugar and brown sugar. Cream the butter and sugars on medium speed.

  4. Add the egg, egg yolk, 2 tablespoons milk, and vanilla extract to the sugar-butter mixture. Mix.

  5. Slowly incorporate the flour mixture until thoroughly combined. Stir in the chocolate chips.

  6. Scoop large, thick portions onto baking sheets, Bake for  8-9 minutes or until golden brown.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Melissa says:

    Omg! Just made these & they are amazing! Simple & did i say..amazing! Thank u so much! Going 2 make more soon & try 2 double the recipe so i can make enough for my moms birthday party. Is there anything I need 2 change if I double the next batch?
    Thanks so much! Melissa

  2. Lisa says:

    You are missing baking powder and chips

Show Some Love