Sweetness Tea

Oh Dear Lyric,

It’s all there.  Within you.  And so I am the luckiest of all because it flows forth from you.  To me.  To us.  And back again.

Sweetness.

Mostly, that’s what it is.  Pure, sugary, knock-your-heart-over sweetness.  The kind that hangs from the moon on the most still of nights.

And when you smile and giggle I believe I actually float above the floor for a few moments.   In that sweetness realm with you.  Encompassed.

My son, there are no words that can be arranged to explain the Gift of you.   No way for emotions to translate to my fingers that type at this very moment.    Impossible for letters and commas and periods to line up in the precise way they need to to spell out LYRIC LOVE.  And yes, I am trying, but sometimes all I can do is understand them through warm, globby tears steeped in gratitude.  A sweetness tea.


You are abut 14 weeks old and drooly now.  You have learned to blow bubbles and make silly noises, like you did when you awoke at 4 am to nurse and were all smiley and happy afterwards.  I kissed your head, and so did Daddy, and I said “You are too cute for 4am.  Now go back night night”.  And you cooed and fell back asleep.

Every morning when you wake up, a smile lights your face.  You appear so happy to be alive another morning.  Almost surprised.  And I want to harness that and breathe that gratitude in every morning my groggy, tired, often overwhelmed self wakes up too.  “Holy schmoly! Another day I get to be ALIVE!”

You still haven’t officially rolled over but then again, you are rarely out of arms.   Who wants to put sweetness down?

You have made Three feel easy.  I know that won’t always be the case, so I’m soaking it all up.  How you slid right into our family amazes me.   It’s like there was always this little space for you and it fits you perfectly.  And I see it now when I look at old family photos, the ones of just the girls….there is this very evident space being held for you, usually in an corner of the photo.   And it’s the space which you now inhabit.  You are finally here.

Oh, happy baby, you are good to Mama.  Good for my soul.  For all of us.

I can’ wait to show you the “shining, shimmering, splendid” world!

Love you with every little morsel of my inflated heart,

Mama

4 thoughts on “Sweetness Tea

  1. Ok, for the first time in over a year, I think my uterus just felt a twinge while reading this :). You do make three sound so lovely. And I can totally see that space in the pics for Lyric!!

  2. i know about that space! remember on the playground that day i said that to you while the 2 were just sitting on top of the slide? little did i know someone was conspiring to bless me with three-ness. they are always there, lingering…..and guiding.

    lyric is love!!!!! enjoy him and his tea. wish i could snuggle him!!!!!

Show Some Love

