this man

this man
lured me to the desert
at the age of 19
after never forgetting
our first kiss
at age 17
youth coursed through
our blood and bones
and we made
this place right here
our home


this man
knew as a kid
he wanted to be
an architect
and dreamed of
a certain school
in which his paper
lines would become
reality among
the cactus and
the dirt

this man
took my hand in his
and our wrists
were draped
in red satin
and we said
“loving you is easy”
in front of those
who knew us best
and fastened together
were our hearts

this man
tromped the desert
terrain at that school
and i carried his
firstborn wistfully
together we built
a nest
nestled in the
history and
myth and
drama of it all

this man
cried with me
the day she
was born to us
and she
melted him
and me
together into a
hearty soup
of love
and deep knowing

this man
woke at dawn
and worked till
the sun pulled
itself back into
darkness
and surprised
me with kisses
and a balloon ride

over the red, red rocks

this man
readied his
sturdy hands
which softened
as i birthed our
second daughter
into them
then leaning in
he cried with me
the day she
was born to us

this man
took a risk
and jumped off
the bridge of
mystery
into the river
of unknowing
and swam to
the land of love
to get to the
tree of abundance

this man
stood in the kitchen
as i whispered
i was growing
another child
and we embraced
a little unsure
a lot in love
without some money
without much fear
and we laughed

this man
pulled back the curtains
and the layers
of my heart
and it was his
turn to whisper
“this is a perfect day”
and again his
hands opened like
prayer to receive
his firstborn son

Photo by Jeanette LeBlanc

this man
has never been
happier as he
embarks on
a journey all his own
work and life
and passion
bundled into one
and the spark
dances off his
eyes daily


this man
is mine
and ours
and of the world
and the stars
and i say to him
“thank you”
and yes,
yes, of course,
loving you is
easy

11 thoughts on “this man

  1. “THIS MAN”….brought tears to my eyes….even as I type.
    This man…. is my eldest son-in-law. I love him for himself: for fathering 3 of my grandchildren and for bringing my oldest daughter happiness, fulfillment …..dreams yet to be realized.

    Dad

  2. Gorgeous. And OMG I love the picture of you two teenagers! I don’t think I knew you’d met when you were so young. Actually, maybe you met even BEFORE you were 17? Love that, maybe because it’s how old I was when I met MY man.

Show Some Love

