Burgeoning

It surrounds me, like a cocoon. Like a womb, really.

Birth.


I haven’t written much of it lately but it’s there, always.

No baby growing within me, but so much Life is.

A new birth center opening that I am humbled to have even have a small role in (I can’t wait for my clients – the business owners -to birth there soon, as the sun/moon light filters through the big bright old windows).

The opportunity to work closely with a beloved homebirth midwife in a tiny way as an assistant here and there (witnessing new breath in the intimacy of a home, such bliss).

Ramping up community efforts with the Arizona Birth Network, a non-profit started by my close friend Jeanette.

How I’m re-loving this Zion and the Grouch song about the artist’s homebirth of his daughter (“Mom’s a soldier, how natural does that feel?”) Check out the title – priceless.

Awaiting the beautiful transformation of a mama wishing for a VBAC (Oh, how she deserves this. Oh how so many do.), a first time mama who I hope will dance her way through labor to the beat of drums, two repeat clients who are near and dear to me, a mama who will sink into her primal self to birth if only slightly differently than her first, a wise mama who I shiver to think I will have the honor of witnessing her second homebirth (with a Rock-n-Roll midwife), and a lovely second time mama who may birth at the birth center in the fall (her dream place!).

What I’ve seen this year already…

A most radiant soul-friend, who welcomed her magical third daughter into the world with a powerful surge of courage even through fear (though she lost her star-voyager son just a year and a half prior). A second time mama, birthing naturally this time, who felt her daughter coming just minutes after sliding into the birth pool ( baby arrived in just 3 pushes after a fast labor). A second time mama who had a quiet, mellow, Superbowl Sunday birth (not the “clinical one” like she described her first) as I rubbed her freshly painted feet after her easy epidural (they had to insert it twice last time) – only two pushes. A third time mama going through an induction who sped through labor like a warrior and got unhooked from all the machines (her body rocked). A second time mama whose back labor (silly posterior babies) came on hard, fast, and strong and didn’t want the epidural but worked so hard through so much and got the epidural and then found out she was fully dilated (so intense, that work of birth) but birthed her baby in just a few pushes, smiling and laughing.

A whirlwind of fast births and insanely amazing women who bowl me over with primal fearlessness, no matter the choices they make. Remembering to totally trust second time (or more) mamas with every sensation they feel (“The baby is coming” really means that baby is probably COMING). Laughing at the vision of one mama who was caught chomping a juicy, thick burger in Triage to the nurse’s dismay (after the nurse left, she continued chomping).

Thinking I totally lucked out to have this gig.

5 thoughts on “Burgeoning

  1. Oh Leigh…I love this post. I love the way you write. Thank you for giving me the opportunity to be your client…i know that my birth will be nothing short of amazing with the birth team I have around me. And there is a new birthing center opening up in the valley? how exciting.

  2. Be still my beating heart…I feel the same shiver. It is absolutely we birthing women who are the lucky ones to have been graced with the opportunity to cross paths with you in this lifetime. Thank you for reminding us all how amazing we are!

  3. Awesome to hear the stories of working among warriors. A suggestion for mommies, both new and old – the documentary The Great Mother. It’s both the story of the Dalai Lama’s mother (told through amazing interviews with the Dalai Lama), but a look at motherhood and mothering itself. It’s a beautiful watch, there are trailers, sales, info, etc. at that site.

Show Some Love

