Obligitory Letter Upon 11.4.08

Dear Girls,

Two nights ago, while the silver light of the moon poured into our windows, we witnessed a monumental occasion in our country’s history. Kaia, as you lay in bed between your Daddy and me (Indigo, you were fast asleep in another room), we held our breath as we watched numbers on a screen. Numbers that represented a choice. A choice, born of conviction, which represented a voice. Voices that represented yearning and a spark of Hope.

And when our breath was released it engaged a part of us that had lain restless for so very long. As you slumbered, I sat transfixed on the eyes and words of our new leader. Your Daddy wiped tears from his eyes, silent and still.

All I could think of was “Finally”. And Kaia, I held your warm hand while you slept, knowing that your future would be shifted – even if ever so slightly. Tremors rose in my body as if butterflies were bursting forth from my soul.

It was that good.

I cannot pinpoint precisely why the election of Barack Obama as our new president moved me so. There are dozens of little reasons and handfuls of significant ones. Combined, I can only say that it feels right (political analysts  must despise my “kind”).

Yes, he has captivated a country with mere words (of course I’d fall for a man who can deliver a damn good poetic speech). Words hold power, meaning, and purpose. Words unite, divide, scorn, and heal. Words are not THE change but they ignite it. Words are not a guarantee, but they are a promising start.

Um, just contrast some now famous words of our current president and our president elect:

“Yes we can to justice and equality. Yes we can to opportunity and prosperity. Yes we can heal this nation. Yes we can repair this world. Yes we can.” – Barack Obama

I just want you to know that, when we talk about war, we’re really talking about peace.”George W Bush

Girls, what I really want to say is that I hope the Voice that your Daddy and I cast – that so many cast – indeed sets the stage for that much needed healing. I hope those votes were not in vain. Mostly, I hope you will know that those votes were made from the heart of a mama who is full up from your love, from your propensity to believe and trust and forge on.

I don’t presume to believe that one person, one president, will bring about a miracle. But that one person – who has inspired millions – has created an energy that is alive and vibrant and pulsing now. And that is where real progress begins. It indeed begins with a Yes.

Because I just want you to know that I must believe that THIS time, when we talk about war, we’ll REALLY be talking about peace.

We have so much work to do.  And that work, indeed, is infinite, never-ending, and cyclical. It is part of our spirit work. Each of us have hardened hearts to soften, frayed nerves that need soothing, and pressures that deserve to be lifted. Many of us have little eyes peering up at us, eyes that we want to be able speak authentically into and say “You are safe. You are free. You need no permission”. I want to return to you what you have given so freely and effortlessly to me.

For so many years, my girls, this country and her people have managed to survive. My one hope is that, perhaps now, we can begin to thrive. Because when we thrive – basic needs met, hearts wide open and ready, the knowledge of endless opportunity – we uncover our immeasurable potential.

It is there. It always is. Every single day, you both remind me of this.

Nothing. Is. Impossible.

Instead, “I M POSSIBLE”.

Thank you for choosing me, in this moment, in this time. Thank you for sharing a bittersweet occasion with me. It was so very much sweeter with you.

Mama

4 thoughts on “Obligitory Letter Upon 11.4.08

  1. So beautiful. I hope you print a copy or ten of this letter on archival quality paper and save it for your little rays of light… for when they are great big rays of light… for when they are generation leading our country.

  2. Crossing my fingers and holding my breath that this man who has brought so many together is able to continue to harness that energy, love and hope, and move this nation forward. We need that for our children. Failure is not an option.

  3. don’t hold you breath gearhead! breath! and breath deeply your love to the world!

    leigh, what a lovely letter. i agree with Jane print this out!

    xxoo
    mb

Show Some Love

