Shiny, Happy Thingies

 

A list of recent gifts in my life for which I offer gratitude.

“Let us rise up and be thankful, for if we didn’t learn a lot today, at least we learned a little, and if we didn’t learn a little, at least we didn’t get sick, and if we got sick, at least we didn’t die; so, let us all be thankful.” – Buddha

  • Blogging outside on my patio, with Indi crawling around
  • My baby’s chubby, pudgy, silky arms and legs
  • Clean countertops, smelling vaguely of tea tree oil
  • A delectably long, steamy shower after attending a middle of the night birth
  • Empowering, sacred natural births in hospitals
  • An Eskimo kissing session with Kaia that turned into gleeful laughter
  • My daughters’ scrunchy eyes
  • Indigo saying “bird” (“Ba!!”) while signing it
  • The saffron blossoms of an ocotillo in my backyard
  • My silicone pot holder
  • The Clary Sage and Lavendar salve MB made me (which is rubbed on my hands prior to births)
  • My inexpensive turquoise ring
  • Breastmilk
  • Small, email love notes from my midwife/friend/soul-being Marinah
  • My propensity for gliding into a full squat with ease
  • My custom-made leather wallet and jewelry (courtesy of a friend of a friend who I had the good fortune of meeting recently)
  • My Sweet Lullaby (by Deep Forest) ringtone for doula clients; the only I’ve ever purchased
  • Stretching limbs deeply and slowly in the morning while still in bed
  • An unexpected dollar bill in my wallet
  • Kaia’s lyrical talent and mostly in-tune voice in the backseat of the minivan
  • The low, primal moans and chants of labor…the quiet, still breathing of labor…the trance-like state of a woman in labor
  • My mom finding a stash of jewelry in the garage that I’d been searching a year for, along with my beloved Jennifer Berezen CD
  • Shelves we finally put up in our office to organize my doula business materials
  • Indi’s fine hair blowing the in the breeze as she swings
  • That I have enough clothes – and resources to wash them – so that it doesn’t matter when Indi rubs her sweet-potato encrusted smile against my freshly laundered tank top
  • That Kaia goes down so easily for naps (most of the time)
  • A day recently in which both girls took two nice naps
  • B12 vitamins and Rescue Remedy
  • A small stash of Kate’s Magik essential oils, introduced to me by my dear friend Janis in the form of a True Abundance blend
  • Energy that comes to me in the form of visions of beauty, birth, and metamorphosis; these visions swirl in my head as I prepare to sleep
  • My dear friend’s clean and airy home, which she opens with love to anyone, anytime. Her home is a respite on crazy days and so is her superwoman attitude.
  • My bamboo wooden stirring spoons
  • A full tank of gas and a recent oil change
  • Fresh spinach leaves
  • Boundaries; and the courage to topple them when necessary
  • A tall glass of OJ in the morning and at midnight
  • Intuition; of the heart, spirit, and body
  • Realizing some new prenatal vitamins (I still take while nursing) were the cause of my nightly belly aches and general ickiness
  • The selective moments when releasing mothering guilt comes easily
  • Synchronicity
  • Google maps
  • Text messaging
  • Hard boiled eggs
  • Hearing Kaia say “Please, thank you, and you’re welcome” unprompted
  • Unexpected kindness of strangers
  • Salty French fries
  • Reveling in Kate’s serene and slightly-smiling voice on her message
  • Freshly vacuumed carpet
  • A dye-job that has lasted 7 months and a haircut that miraculously shows it off
  • The cooing of doves
  • Photos of MB and her babies
  • Accepting a doula client saying “We couldn’t have done it without you” even though you know they totally could have
  • The recent color-burst of sunshine yellow “weeds” along the AZ highways and washes
  • Mini-cupcakes, just out of the oven
  • The intentional and perfect rhythm of life that always remains, despite my wavering ability to notice it.
  • Realizing how easily gratitude comes when its in the form of a list
  • Enough battery life on my laptop to finish this post wirelessly on my patio
10 thoughts on “Shiny, Happy Thingies

  1. Oh – this made me so happy to read this and see this lovely photo of you and your girls (or as Rosie would say “goils”). I am longing for green grass and nice weather – I wish we lived close to you so we could hang out… You reminded me that I need to start working on Sam and teaching him signs so he can stop with the high pitched screaming (oh god the screaming)…
    Much, much love to you all…

    p.s – soooooo jealous that you have an easy napper

Show Some Love

