Contest Meme

I’ve been tagged by Jeanette at [Crunchy] to participate in a random meme. Well, since I did one recently, I’ll just let you read it by clicking the link here.

And here’s what came to my mind today that I’d like to know about you: what types of contests and/or prizes have you ever won from entering random drawings?

I used to be a pathetic contest freak. When we’d be out and about, I’d enter any of them I saw (besides the cheesy vacation/gym membership drawings) just for fun. We’ve only won two real prizes in our lives but they were pretty cool.

One was a grape iMac computer from Guitar Center, just shortly after they were introduced. Since we weren’t Mac users, we sold it after just a few months and made some decent money (a couple hundred more than they were actually selling for!).

And then around the same time, we won a K2 snowboard from a Fry’s Electronics store. My husband has been enjoying his trusty board ever since.

Along a similar topic, I have two friends who have been on gameshows and won a bunch o’dough or prizes. One of them was on The Price is Right and got all the way to The Showcase Showdown. He won an entire living room set (TV, couches, etc).

The other was on The Wheel of Fortune and won a boatload of cash.

So, do share what contest loot you’ve been lucky to reap…

6 thoughts on “Contest Meme

  1. I can only remember entering one contest, and it was when I was maybe 7? I won a white rabbit from a booth at a Bunny-Rama… Lol. I named him Denver and learned how to flare my nostrils by watching him all day.

  2. I won a $300 Coach certificate from a legal research company in law school. Instead of using it to buy a nice big classic handbag, I bought a smaller purse for $150 and pocketed the cash back. Of course, since it’s small, it wouldn’t even carry my wallet these days, let alone anything else I need. I think I gave it to my sister.

  3. When I was in college I won a basket of Clairol hair products from WalMart. 🙂
    That’s about it.
    Except around eleven I remember going through this phase where I entered every contest I came across, mostly from food products. I used my mom’s name and did win her a set of measuring cups.

  4. I don’t think I have won anything either…hmmm…

    Nope. I got nothing for you.

    Oh wait! Ok, I didn’t win anything except notoriety. I was the Monopoly Champion of my town when I was 12. I was in the paper. It’s funny because I never play monopoly. Not then and not now but I played in the competition in my town and won!

    But that’s it…

  5. I won an acoustic guitar in a raffle once. And I won some beautiful handmade pottery in a raffle at once when i was pregnant with Mia. I remember walking into the fundraiser (not in my name party) and seeing all the things you could win if you bought raffle tickets…and I saw the pottery and said, ‘i want those!’ When my number got called I was like, ‘are you all just being nice to the pregnant lady???’ I still think it was fixed.

    But I think that’s it. That’s kinda sad. Do scratch of lotto tix count?

    mb

Show Some Love

