Popcorn Delight

Whoah – Indi’s poo wafts of buttered popcorn! (How about that for an opening line?) 

I thought I was just going a bit crazy when I confessed this to MB.  However, she practically finished my sentence when I said “Hey, Indi’s poop, it smells just like…”  Laughing, we shared stories of breastmilk poo; how with tiny Mia on a road trip, her and Bill really thought they must be passing a movie theatre because they smelled buttered popcorn and were actually craving it.  Until they stopped and found that Mia had experienced one of those infamous breastmilk explosive poops.  

I don’t recall Kaia’s poop smelling like this, but Indi’s…wow, it’s just incredible the odorous resemblance!  I had been noticing that sometimes the air around her smelled kinda sweet or something, almost good.  And one day, when I opened the diaper, there it was.  The smell of movie-theatre style popcorn, all freshly popped and warm and ready to dig into.  Of course, the bright yellow color of the poop helps visually add to the believability of butter. 

I guess it could be worse; it could reek of, I dunno, rotting mouse flesh. And yes, I unfortunately know all too intimately that wretched stench, courtesy of our one year housed in a rat/mouse infested apartment building at Taliesin West and living with a cat who loved to bring mice in through the doggy door.  And place them on our bed.  Or under it. 

(File this right with “Puppy paw pads smell like popcorn too”.  I dare you to try and NOT sniff you pooches paws…)

10 thoughts on “Popcorn Delight

  1. That’s EXACTLY what my babies poop smelled like. Yummy popcorn. Many people thought I was weird when I would tel them that. Maybe we make buttery milk.

  2. One of my friends asked me when Albie was about 3 mos old whether we’d had a buttered popcorn diaper yet. Too funny. He only had a few like that. Most of them really do smell like buttermilk.

    And I think dog paws smell distinctly like Fritos, rather than popcorn. I think I just singled myself out as a junk food connoisseur, lol. I especially notice it on my chow because they lose heat through feet and he has a lot of heat to lose…I guess it because there’s so much corn in their dog food.

    Ah, the joys of parenting.

  3. neither of my kids’ poop smelled like popcorn, but julian’s did (sometimes still does) smell really, really sweet (better than i remember ava’s smelling). like i just want to sniff it all day kind of sweet. ahh, the power of breastmilk. 😉

    puppy breathe is another good thing to sniff on as well. never tried puppy paws though. LOL

  4. I don’t get the popcorn smell with puppy-pads. But I do love the smell of puppy-pads. They are sweet, so good. Before kids I used to lay in bed with my first ‘baby’ and sniff her pads forever. I will have to compare again when I get my first new-baby diaper of popcorn, buttered up goodness. Ew, did you ever think you’d talk about how yummy your kids shit smelled????

    xo
    m

  5. Oddly enough, my amniotic fluid smelled like popcorn too (it had meconium in it, so maybe that had something to do with it?) I don’t so much care for the smell of popcorn anymore, LOL. Too much like body secretions!

    Puppy paws smell delicious… I don’t smell the popcorn, but I smell the earth, baked and warm, and also something a little like waffles.

    Ferret tails smell EXACTLY like grape soda, if you ever get the chance to take a hit off one of those… it even smells slightly fizzy. 😀

  6. Ok, this is so gross and hilarious. I LOVE it.

    Our babies’ diapers smelled like popcorn, too. It got to the point where I hated (microwaved, especially) to smell popcorn! Because it smelled like a huge diaper to me!

    I also cannot stomach sour cream when we have a new baby in the house. Too much like the poop, again. I love sour cream and eat lots of it. But when a little exclusively nursed baby is in the mix, no way am I taking a big bite of–well, poo!

    too, too funny.

    Now, all the toddler diapers smell like is field trip to the farm day. But I can eat popcorn and sour cream again!

Show Some Love

