Kaia @ 2

This girl turns two years old today.

Unbelievable. A (hopefully) more articulate letter is materializing within me and will come shortly. In the meantime, this is for my sweet Kaia:

 

 

ShiftingMortal

 

Beyond anything

I could have dreamed

Or conjured in my mind

Or clutched in my cells

You are my messenger

Traveling here to

Remind me of

My precious mortality

 

On this eve of your birth

My soul and my body

Commemorate your arrival

And since that night

Twenty-six bold, golden moons

Have waxed and waned

And lit full the sky

Like you’ve lit my heart

 

My fire, my water

My softness, my harshness

My perfect imperfections

My simple and weighty secrets

My love unfurled

Into your petite frame

And limber muscles

And espresso eyes

 

I love you.

 

“For a moment of night we have a glimpse of ourselves and of our world islanded in a stream of stars – pilgrims of mortality, voyaging between horizons across the eternal seas of space and time” Henry Beston

8 thoughts on “Kaia @ 2

  1. Happy Birthday, sweet girl! I can’t believe it’s gone by so fast. Or at least, so it seems. Anna Sofia will be 2 in 2 short months (and some change). How can that be?

  2. kaia we love you so and have some treaty-treat-treats for you!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    mb

  3. Pingback: Misplaced Mama :: kaia’s new cut. :: July :: 2007

Show Some Love

