Solstice

Just sitting here on the morning of the Summer Solstice, listening to the sound of my girl playing with her plastic farm animals on the back patio, awaiting my delivery of a bunch of these today, and contemplating placing my order for this.

Nothing like last minute shopping for a 40w1d pregnant mama!

To honor the Solstice, I will bask in the mother sun for a wee bit shortly, burn some moxa to warm up my belly and unleash my qi energy , and dance to the African beats of Babatunde (introduced to me by the sweet sunny Brooke) with my girl when she awakens from her nap. I had originally thought that the Solstice would be a perfect day for baby to arrive but now that it’s actually here, wow, that seems too surreal to imagine.

Last night, I floated in the birthing tub while giggling my way through “The Sweetest Thing”, one of my all time favorite, silly, girly movies. I also made what I hope to be my last trip to the grocery store before baby arrives, but who knows? I stocked up on toilet paper, milk, wipes, strawberries, and graham crackers. I admit I picked up a Reese’s PB Cup on the way out (I figured I was due a special treat on my due date) and a Snicker’s for my honey.

As I meandered slowly down the empty aisle, a middle-aged woman commented to me as she pushed her cart past: “I hope that baby comes soon for you, ‘cause I’m feeling your pain!”.

I smiled and replied “Oh, I’m feeling fabulous. I’m actually really enjoying it. My due date is today and I’m waiting patiently.” I was being honest.

She gave me a polite, but funny look, and continued through the masses of laundry detergent “Yeah, well my girl was 10 days late. An 8 pounder, they had to yank her outta me!”.

I mentioned something about how 8 pounds sounds perfect and she stopped for a moment, turned, smiled, and said reflectively “Yeah, she is perfect…Well, good luck!”.

People say the strangest, darndest things.

8 thoughts on “Solstice

  1. Ah, I woulda told you to pass on the swaddlebees – maybe we had a bad batch, but they did nothing but leak for us. Re the moby – if you want to save money, I’ve got a big ole length of t-shirt material you can use. Not as pretty as a ‘real’ wrap, but works just the same.

    That reminded me to find you those diapers, darn it…

    Jeanette

  2. J –
    Ahhhh, I’ve heard good things from others about the Swaddlebees! Well, I guess I’ll have to wait and see, eh? I’ll have to re-sell on Ebay if the darn things leak.
    And you know me…no way I’d figure out how to do the t-shirt material thing. I wouldn’t even make it into a fabric store ever. I’m SO lazy, remember? Half-ass for sure. Haha.
    XOXO,
    Leigh

  3. I know some people who love the Swaddlebees, although I’ve personally never tried them. If I recall from the one time I had one in my hand, they have a really low rise, which never would have worked on my girl. But every baby is built different. Hopefully they work out for you.

    And I love love LOVE my Moby wrap. M positively loved the cradle hold (http://www.mobywrap.com/instructions.php?link=3) when she was a wee thing, and it was so incredibly comfortable, with that super soft fabric spread wide over both shoulders. She took her naps in it until she was about 9 months old, something I could only manage with my bad back because it was over both shoulders. A good investment, with my only caution being that it can get a little warm under all those layers of fabric. It takes some practice to learn how tight to tie it, but it is well worth it!

  4. We just had our winter solstice here – and I’m looking forward to brighter days… you are GLOWING and gorgeous! I’m so excited for you!

  5. i loved my moby before julian hit about 18 lbs. it was wonderful. 🙂
    mmmm, peanut butter cups.
    and yes, people do say the strangest, darndest things – especially to pregnant women.

  6. Hi, Leigh !! I just read every single word of your story. Amazing! Incredible! Tearful, at times! WOW !!

    I would love to get to know you better. It is so funny, because you are a lot like me! How could that be? We are not blood-relations, just by marriage, but nevertheless……

    Please send to me your personal email so that I can email you some of my thoughts.

    Thanks !! And congratulations on your new baby girll !! *your* Kaia is also adorable, just like *my* Kaia!

    Love,
    Aunt Ruth

Show Some Love

