Stress Indicator

How I judge my stress level:

Folks, that’s WHITE (er, kinda yellow I guess)  on the end of my nubby little fingernails. I haven’t seen that in years, years, years. As a rabid nail biter, this is huge progress (Kaia even noticed them one day as I was sitting with her).


So, upon my hands lies the truth: This is how I know that quitting work was the exact right thing for me. This is how I know that being a full-time Mama to my girl is perfect. This is how I know that I am freakishly blissed out on life.

7 thoughts on “Stress Indicator

  1. Oh my gosh. Now I’m totally convinced: we were separated at birth. The only difference is that I haven’t seen any whites in a good couple of years.

    But I can relate to how it feels to look down one day and see them, suddenly: the neat, calm hands of a neat, calm person. “Hey! Are those mine? Wow!” …it really is a barometer of the soul.

    Sounds like over-thinking to anyone else other than those of us finger-knawing variety… we know how significant it is. So keep it up happy girl!

  2. Thanks for the love, Nino, my friend.
    Kate – Yes indeed, separated at birth. Now, if I could just have great hair like you, it would be confirmed that we are related! I know, nail biting is such a crazy thing. Whenever I go on vacation, they always grow. Then I’d go back to the grind at work and they’d be chewed off in a day.
    However, I don’t quite feel “calm”…I wish that would happen! I’m trying to do 10 things at once, failing at almost all of them. 🙂
    XOXO

  3. I so feel you.

    I bit the actual cuticle/skin around my fingers as mere nail is not enough.

    I know things are rockin when my skin is all smooth…not chewed and bloody.

    ew. i can’t believe i just admitted i did that.

    stay easy now,
    marybeth

  4. Love it! I bite mine as a stress reliever, too! My nails are finally looking nice after 6+ months of prenatal vitamins. I guess I am looking forward to a less stressful future!

    I want to get one mani/pedi done with my pretty nails before Sofia is born. They should actually be long enough that I can pick the shape (round, square, etc.). Before I was lucky that there was enough nail to file!

  5. congratulations! not only on the nails, but on having so much less stress in your life. 🙂

    LOVE the belly pics over on flickr. you look so beautiful. and i can’t help but smile whenever i see kaia. that girl’s smile is infectious. 🙂

Show Some Love

