Abundance Mantra

MB recently elaborated on the power of mantras and her words were the precise words I needed to hear, read, and feel vibrate though my body at that very moment, on that very day.

As a doula, I’ve witnessed the incredible force and indisputable effects of mantras. I’ve been there as women have repeated phrases that drastically changed their birth experience in a matter of minutes – adding to the belief and trust in the ability of the body. I have observed women ask their bodies to stop bleeding and watched as moments later the flow was literally reduced or stopped completed (I have done this myself also). Even one word phrases become mantras as women chant “Open, open, open”, or “Down, down, down” – and their bodies bloom and bud like the newest of flowers, their babies sliding beautifully through crimson roses and pale pink lotuses and amethyst lilies. And I’ve been the one to whisper mantras into the ears of the birth goddesses – “You are perfect” – and watch as their mouths soften and eyelids relax and their muscles melt…a body thawing in front of my very eyes, surrounded by the absolute knowledge that their primal WomoonWisdom is alive. The words that create mantras are energy, vibrations, movement, shifts.

I love this definition and peek into the meaning of the word: “The word “mantra” is derived from two Sanskrit words. The first is “manas” or “mind,” which provides the “man” syllable. The second syllable is drawn from the Sanskrit word “trai” meaning to “protect” or to “free from.” Therefore, the word mantra in its most literal sense means “to free from the mind.” Mantra is, at its core, a tool used by the mind which eventually frees one from the vagaries of the mind.”

Our mind, while an incredible and formidable tool, can also hold us hostage by reciting mantras of despair from our past, negative mantras that our culture repeats, mantras that we didn’t even know existed in our mind…playing like old tapes. Mantras that are imprinted deeply on us. Switching to a hopeful, life-affirming mantra can literally, physically, and physiologically free our mind.

So “What”, I asked myself “Would be MY mantra right now?” I wanted something with pizzazz, something insightful and meaningful and slightly mysterious. But all that kept being repeated in my mind was this:

I flow through life with ease, experiencing abundance

I really, really tried to come up with something more…profound, but alas, I accepted what had been given to me. And as I thought more about this simple mantra, it made more sense to me.

“I flow through life with ease: As a person who thrives, sometimes in a way too unhealthy manner, on multi-tasking, as someone who cannot seem to focus on one thing, as somehow who drives herself mad with chaos, it became clear that I really do want to be someone who moves with ease. I want to be that person that doesn’t let life bog her down, who goes with the flow. That person in which mindfulness is part of each and every movement, in which everyday tasks become sacred ritual. I think of my insatiable Brooke, who I swear holds the world in the palm of her hand and watches it spin, smiling and giving thanks while she toasts with her glass of wine. Really, her grace is luminous and her aura glows with the bright hue of total effortlessness (which I think is soft amber). Her movements and words are thoughtful, smooth, and confident. She is someone at ease. I ran across this quote that really resonated with me and makes me think of ease:

“Harmony (i.e. “Ease”) is the inner cadence of contentment you feel when the melody of life is in tune.” Sarah Ban Breathnach

“…experiencing abundance”. MB speaks often of abundance and has wonderful examples of how abundance is bestowed on her. She takes notice. I am fascinated with a word we don’t often use anymore, or that we grossly misunderstand. To me, abundance is the belief that everything we need is within our reach, that we are always provided with enough. For me, experiencing abundance means remembering that I always have enough (and then some) time, energy, love, resources, food, talent, sleep, money, ability, patience, healing, goodness, etc. It’s the concept that abundance surrounds us and we must only recognize it and be willing to scoop it into our life with gratitude. We must be grateful or abundance turns to greed. To me, becoming really in tune with your abundance also means that you share, share, share and spread it all around. It is a life-giving force, which requires our conscious involvement instead of our selfish taking. And mostly, what I love about abunDANCE is it really is a DANCE, a swirling of universal energy and knowledge that keeps perfect rhythm.

So, my mantra stands for now. I’ve said it over and over the past two days. I’ve repeated it while in bed, driving in my car, sitting on the dirty carpet watching my daughter play, and while typing on my keyboard at work. I always say it after a great big exhale. It feels good.

4 thoughts on “Abundance Mantra

  1. Yippee. Your mantra rocks, Leigh. What else could one ask for? Life should not be hard work, it should be fun work and there is plenty of everything out there for all of us, amazingly enough. Funny how we are taught to think there is a shortage!

    I also love this post so much. I also never broke down the word mantra for the meaning, and now that i see it down, it makes to much more sense.

    One more thing I love is you… because you whisper, “you are perfect” to mamas. And when you time comes again, I promise to whisper it in your ear.

  2. What a great post. I love your mantra. I find that mine shift and change as the days go by … new ones rising up in my head as the old ones seem to lose their power. I try to honor this, even when I dearly loved one and found it so wonderful. My favorite was “I allow myself to feel good.” I couldn’t believe the power those simple words held for me, the way they would instantly transform my whole being. I was sad when that went away, but know there are other mantras for me … I just need to open myself to them.

    I am fascinated by the thought of using mantras and visualization during birth. I am certain this would be of immense help to me. When the time comes, I will have to find someone on this side of the country to help me, to whisper them in my ear.

  3. Thank you. I woke up this morning with a desire to be consistent on my journey toward peace and abundance. I am grateful for your site.
    Maria

Show Some Love

