Obsessions

“I know quite certainly that I myself have no special talent; curiosity, obsession, and dogged endurance, combined with self-criticism have brought me to my ideas.” – Albert Einstein


I obsess about….

  • Birth
  • Sleep
  • Chocolate
  • Trying to get everything done all at once
  • Biting my nails
  • Shoes
  • Clean sheets
  • Writing
  • Wanting to keep my eyebrows waxed but never doing it
  • Wearing a flattering bra
  • Body language
  • The verbiage and visuals of marketing and packaging
  • Making people feel comfortable and at ease
  • Blogging
  • Wanting to quit my job
  • Checking my email
  • Filling in dead space while driving by calling my husband, my Mom, my friends. What did I ever do before cell phones?
  • Interpreting the messages of the universe
  • Ensuring my daughter has abundant opportunities for discovery and tender love
  • The days my eating habits are to be abhorred and how I’ll make it up the following day
  • Attempting to make a good first impression
  • The hidden meaning of people’s words
  • Turning grumpy people’s frowns upside down (particularly strangers)
  • Whether or not I’m doing a good enough job
  • Being respected and honored as a Why I can’t get to work on time
  • Life as poetry
  • Trying to look into a person’s eyes when they talk instead of watchingtheir mouth like I always, always end up doing
  • Finding the balance between order and chaos in my housekeeping and in my scattered mind
  • Me” time (see: writing, blogging, checking email, chocolate, and sleep)
  • Ways to curb my obsessions

Show Some Love

