Married…with Child

Conversation with my husband on 05.10.06, our three year anniversary.

Me: "Happy Anniversary, honey!", I exclaim holding an envelope towards him, as he strolls in the door from work. We hug.

Him: "……??" Look of confusion mixed with a smile

Me: "What??!".

More silence and confusion, but still a frozen smile.

Him: With embarrased/nervous giggle, "I thought it was on the 17th!"

Me: "Don't worry, I forgot too until your Dad's wife reminded me"

Ten minutes later, at the dinner table. Geniune snickering emits from my husband.

Him: "I busted you!"

Me: "What do you mean?"

Him: Nodding towards a file box where I stash extra cards. "I know where you got it!".

Me: Sarcastically, with confidence, "I know!"

Fifteen minutes later, in our bathroom.

Him: Excited, grinning, as if a lightbulb just turned on in his mind, "Ohhhhh, now I remember! The 17th is the DOG'S birthday!…"

Me: "Guh-reat"

So, this is what we've come to? I love it. I, of course, was secretly glad I wasn't the only one who forgot our anniversary.

The next day, he presented me with gorgeous calla lillies, just like the ones I carried at our wedding. He's a good one!

wedding.jpg

One thought on “Married…with Child

  1. Ohmygoodness

    you are the cutest couple on the planet. your happiness is pierces me!

    we’ll miss being in the smae state as you for the next 6 weeks! Come visit!

    m

Show Some Love

